An Overview of Connecticut Auto Insurance
All registered cars in Connecticut must be insured. Connecticut is known to have some of the highest auto insurance rates in the country. This depends largely on the type of insurance company you choose to go with and which package you select from the various options.
Before purchasing an insurance policy, you should understand the requirements, the types of insurance available, and what you can expect in terms of car insurance rates.
What is required for drivers in Connecticut?
The Minimum Insurance Requirements
Drivers in Connecticut need to follow the minimum liability car insurance limits listed below:
|Property damage||$10,000 per accident|
|Bodily injury||Total of $40,000|
|Bodily injury for each person in an accident||$20,000|
Additionally, you are required to have uninsured or underinsured motorist coverage. This covers your medical bills when you’re involved in an accident with either an uninsured driver or a driver whose insurance will not be able to cover your medical bills. The minimum coverage amounts required by law are $20,000 per person and $40,000 per accident.
Optional Car Insurance
Car Insurance Violations in Connecticut
Any cancellation of your insurance must be reported to the Connecticut DMV.
On receipt of this notice, the DMV will get in touch with you and notify you of the opportunity to purchase car insurance under the same or different insurance company failure to which they will pay a fine of $200.
If you do not respond to the letter then you will be sent a warning of suspension. You may then have a court hearing where your registration could be suspended or you could lose privileges to either renew your car or register a new one.
You can avoid all this by returning your license plates to the DMV in your local area if you are unable to pay auto insurance for one reason or another.
You also have the option of suspending your liability insurance but only if you drive seasonally. In this case, driving without your insurance will be considered an offense. You will, however, get to keep your license plates.
Unique auto insurance elements in Connecticut
The state of Connecticut does not require drivers to have comprehensive and collision insurance. Banks and other financial institutions may require you to have them if your car is a rental or under loan.
The process of registering your car in Connecticut requires you to provide your insurance details. The required form H-13B is an acknowledgement that the driver will maintain the minimum auto insurance requirements.
Insurance for High-Risk Drivers
High-risk drivers include those with a bad credit rating, with poor driving records and new drivers. These drivers may require additional high-risk insurance. This may be purchased through the Connecticut Assigned Risk Plan (ARP) or any insurance company that offers high-risk insurance.
There are certain eligibility criteria for high-risk drivers that should be met before they can purchase an assigned risk plan. Anyone applying for an ARP plan should indicate that they have previously tried to get insurance through the standard market but failed to do in the 60 days preceding their application.
You cannot apply for ARP if you are able to get auto insurance in the standard or non-standard market. Your car should be registered in Connecticut and your driver’s license should be valid before applying for ARP. If you have a record of not paying your insurance premiums in the past two years, then you could be disqualified from ARP. You are also disqualified from the plan if you have not had your car inspected in a year. If, however, you choose to pay your overdue premiums and get your car inspected you will receive coverage.
The same plans that are available in the standard and non-standard markets in Connecticut are the same that are available in ARP.
It’s always wise to choose the best high-risk insurer for you because you will have to stick with them for three years. After this period if you have maintained a good driving record, then you are eligible for cheaper insurance rates under the standard and non-standard markets.
Ways to Lower your Insurance Rates in Connecticut
No one wants to pay more than they need to. The goal is to get as many reductions as possible. That said, there are several things you can do to make sure you always get the cheapest car insurance rates in Connecticut.
Shop around and get quotes from several companies. There are many auto insurance companies in Connecticut. Shopping around makes sure that you get the cheapest rates. Different companies have different rates and you might find one company offering you much less than another company under the same terms. This ‘shopping around’ also keeps rates competitive, so get a few quotes.
Shop for insurance before you buy a car. Different cars have different premiums. If you want the cheapest rates, then there are certain cars that you will not be able to buy. Usually cars that are cheaper in overall price translate to lower insurance premiums, but this is not always the case if your car is at risk of being stolen or you park or drive through a risky area.
If you have an older vehicle, then you do not have to get comprehensive or collision coverage for it, thus reducing your total insurance cost.
Purchase auto and homeowners insurance from the same insurance provider and you will get better insurance rates for both. If you have several vehicles, then get them insured under the same company. If you stick with the same auto insurer then over time they will give you better rates for your loyalty. However, it is still important that you select the best insurance company because you are making an investment.
Have a good credit record. A good credit record will give you better leverage when it comes to negotiating insurance rates. Insurance companies will pull your credit record when conducting background information about you. As has already been discussed, you will need special auto insurance if you are unable to get insurance form the normal avenues.
Group insurance. If you get insurance through your employer, you can enjoy much lower prices as compared to someone who purchases their insurance individually. Even if you insure several cars under one insurer, it doesn’t compare to insuring under group insurance.
Older drivers (60 years and above) in Connecticut can take an accident prevention course that is aimed at lowering their premiums.
Teenagers with good grades and those who have driver training qualify for discounts.
Take advantage of special discounts. Connecticut auto insurance companies provide discounts under special conditions. If you are eligible, then this is a good way to get lower rates. Most insurance companies in Connecticut offer the following discounts:
Other additional discounts you can ask your insurance provider for include:
Are there Different Requirements for Full-Time or Part-Time Residents?
There are currently no differences in auto insurance requirements for residents and non-residents. All drivers in Connecticut are required to abide by the minimum insurance requirements.
Where does Connecticut Rank in Price Compared to National Average?
Connecticut insurance rates are considered lower than the national average.
The national average rate for a 45-year-old female driver with a good driving record is one of the lowest in the country at an annual rate of $1,929.
A look at cities in Fairfield, Hartford and New Haven counties showed the following data based on a 45-year-old married female with a good driving record, averaging the annual amount of three top insurance providers:
Car insurance rates in Connecticut vary with age, location and cost of your car. It is always wise to get quotes from different insurers before selecting one as that will help you make the best choice.